Pen Names

Definition:  “a name used by a writer instead of the writer’s real name

Mine is Saffron Grey. Thank you.

I was working on this failed story a few years ago (a bureau of imaginary friends). The protagonist was an imaginary friend who was forced to stick around a lot longer than normal, into the teenage years, actually.

So when I started a Wattpad account (remind me to update there), that was the name floating in my head-space so I took it.

Why do I use it?

Simple. My case could be one of millions. My real name is of Latin-American descent (as am I). When I think of best-selling authors, I think of their awesome, recognizable, pronounceable American-sounding names.

Do I believe readers in the U.S. are more inclined to read a title written by an American? Or written by someone they believe are American?

Yes.

People also use pen names in case they want to publish something with their maiden name. Maybe they’re known for producing one type of content, but they want to branch out–test the waters, so they publish it under a fake name first.

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been submitting original short stories to various magazines and journals (all of them sci-fi, for some reason…) with the name “Saffron Grey” as the byline.

My plan for world domination a little recognition: get many short stories published under the name “Saffron Grey.” Hopefully, readers would get curious about me and find my tumblr blog, Wattpad page, or even this WordPress blog I have… and then they’ll know my real name.

Really, the only fake thing about me is my username. Consider it an online identity.

P.S. So far, only this has been published in my real name, so maybe I’ll have two names floating around the writing world. I just hope it goes places….

P.S.S. My interests serve as my banner, which I set to randomize.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

Leave a Reply

