Interests

Ha! I’m not just a writing advice dispensary.

I mean, as I learn things, I will share them. I’m not going to wait until I’m successful and/or an expert in writing to share. I might forget things.

Other than writing–which is something I do–I also enjoy things that don’t require a lot of ‘doing.’ If you’re interested, continue reading.

If you’re not, then good bye for today. I’ll understand. I might have some writing-related posts tomorrow.

The first thing that I like to do is acting. Not only do I like to act like I’m on top of things, I also enjoy theatre. It’s still a form of storytelling, except that I don’t have the control and follow someone else’s script. I find it just as thrilling as writing because I am helping to bring someone’s story to life. It’s one of the many things I hope to make a living out of.

*raises glass* Here’s to dreaming.

Movies. I love watching and rewatching movies. It started with my dad, who loved Westerns and action films. My tastes have remained with films containing action and comedy, strong characters, etc.

But I can still enjoy flops and film adaptations of things. I like sticking to franchises such as the Fast & Furious films, The Hunger Games… I even managed to stomach the last two Twilight films before officially leaving that series behind. I gladly await the many comic book adaptations from both Marvel and DC. And Fox, I guess… specifically Deadpool (which I might review if I see it this weekend).

Reading. This should come as a ‘duh’ but I haven’t had time to read for pleasure. Despite being an English major, my tastes could be considered a little… less intellectual in some circles.

Look, I started writing fiction as a hobby when I was a teenager. While I was assigned classics in school, what I really paid attention to were young adult novels. I read books that featured teen characters. My preferences were 1st-person fantasy/sci-fi novels with female protagonists. I accepted male protagonists, but 1st-person was a priority.

That’s….

Whoa. That’s it. These are my current hobbies? Acting isn’t really a hobby since I don’t do a lot of it, but just watching movies and reading?

I listen to music, too, but nothing from the radio–I don’t have one. I only consider Panic! at the Disco my favorite artist(s?) because they’re… it’s all I pay attention to, really. When I’m reading or writing, I choose not to listen to music, especially if it doesn’t match what I’m reading/writing.

Musicals. Recently, all I’ve been listening to is the soundtracks from Hamilton: An American Musical and In The Heights. The only Broadway musical I’ve ever seen was Wicked… just… don’t ask me how.

Hamilton, because I kept seeing so many gifs of it on tumblr and got curious. I find it odd that I’m curious about Broadway since it’s all the way in New York… and I’m in California. I’ve no money for a show, let alone a plane ticket. I mean, yeah, the national tour will bring them closer with performances in Los Angeles, but that’s, like… next year. All I can do right now is listen to the playlist on repeat… memorize the songs… rewatching clips from interviews….

I got into In The Heights lately because I learned my local community theatre is going to put on a production of the show this summer! And I plan to audition! My dream role is Vanessa because she’s such a great character (and she’s in a lot of the songs). Of course, if I ended up getting a lead role, I believe it would be Nina Rosario.

She’s a college student, I’m a college student. We both suffer from pressures placed on us by our parents to get a good education. It’s exhausting. I can relate to her the most… but she’s not in 96,000….

At some point, I’ll write about some specific thing from these… things. Writing is what I like to do, so I need things to write about it (especially if I want to post daily).

My header image is set to ‘randomize’ images of things that I like; I don’t know how often they change.

Thank you for your time.


 

Did anything I mention sound like it’s one of your interests? Think I should expand my horizons? Try new things? Comment some recommendations. Could be anything: play, music/artist, book, film, musical soundtrack….

 

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

Leave a Reply

