How Has Your Writing Changed?

Excellent thoughts for writers to ponder.

LionAroundWriting

evolution of a writer

AFTER YEARS (or days?) of writing what have you realised about your craft? What has changed the more you wrote?

Previously I would be in consternation over a sentence, a word, struggling to move onwards with a story or essay, as if words had a power over me in a bad way, preventing me from being productive. I would leave raps, poems and stories half finished. If I didn’t finish them in one sitting I’d rarely go back to them. For some reason I froze when it came to editing. I hated rewriting and changing what I’d produced organically.

Well, those days are gone. Not long gone but gone. I still have loads of ideas and brain scratchings of embryonic stories that will maybe never come to fruition. But they are there. Maybe one day.

Now, I have no qualms about editing. It’s still painful sometimes, but I can…

View original post 203 more words

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

Leave a Reply

