A brief post… and a puppet

I’d made a promise to myself I would be consistent with this blog, posting something notable daily from Monday to Saturday. So I feel a little annoyed at myself because I couldn’t keep to it my second week.

I spent all of Saturday realizing I am not good with my hands.

I’m taking a course called ‘Creative Dramatics’ at my university. It’s meant for future teachers, but I’m only taking it to complete my Theatre minor. The course is about using drama in the classroom with children. It’s pretty fun, but I only dislike the ‘leading the class’ part. I don’t want to be a teacher.

One assignment is to build a puppet. Our own puppet.

Our instructor provided a book filled with puppet ideas. We’re to choose one type of puppet and build it, adding our own variations of course. We just had to use the basic materials the puppet guidelines provided. I’d chosen a sock puppet, thinking it would be easy. It wasn’t.

Our puppet is supposed to have a name and personality, as well as its own unique voice–it must be totally different from our own.

I can make a high My Little Pony voice for a female, or a low monotone dorky voice for a male. I can imagine every female in our class is going to go high-pitched, and I wanted to stand out, but I’d have to keep up the voice for maybe longer than an hour (I’ll find out Monday).

However, in typical Saffron-fashion, I misread our syllabus and believed the puppets were due on the 29th of February.

Uh… they’re due on the 22nd.

So, with the help of my glue-gun savvy younger sister, we spent most of Saturday worrying about having enough glue gun refills and figuring out if the puppet would hold itself together on its own.

In the end, we made two puppets. The first is an androgynous hell-version of a striped bunny, so I didn’t take a photo. Its name is Sugar.

The second one, a cat, came out a little better. She is our success:

ACMD0003 - Copy

 

Her name’s Alice, and she sounds like a My Little Pony character, but I’ve yet to think up a personality for her. Maybe tomboyish… very active…. I’ll spend today figuring something out.

 

She’s a compilation of multiple socks found at our local Dollar Tree. We wanted her to be mismatched and unique. One of the foam pieces we used for ears had a hole in it, and my sister had the idea of giving her a piercing–so we did!

We didn’t include whiskers because we felt that it would block her eyes. Her head’s a little flat on the top once I’ve got it on my hand. We also had the understanding that Alice would get confused for a male because of the blue. Originally, when I picked this pair of socks, I’d thought of making a boy, but voicing a boy is difficult. We decided this confusion would irk Alice, adding to her backstory/personality/behavior.

So if you missed a post from me on Saturday, this is what I’ve been doing. We thought about making a third puppet today, though I don’t know if we’ve got the energy. The idea was that we’d make a few, improving each time, so that I’ll have a few options to present on Monday. It also got fun for a little while.

Personally, I think Alice is the one.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

3 thoughts on “A brief post… and a puppet”

Leave a Reply

