Story Time: Sunday

Sunday

This is a true story. Not necessarily written in a “storytelling” format. I’m just… literally… telling.

About six hours ago (12pm, my time) I was scrambling to come up with a topic for Today’s post. I only had fifteen minutes to get to class, which included stopping by the student store to get a snack for later, so my brain was spinning.

I decided I’d try and post a short story. My online storage drive didn’t have anything I could share yet, so I tried making one up on the spot… sort inspired by what happened to me Sunday evening.

I was pressed for time, so I started a draft, saved it here, and then ran to class. We presented our puppets today. In my previous post, there’s a picture of Alice, my sock cat. She’s sixteen and likes Broadway musicals, particularly of works of Lin-Manuel Miranda. She wants to be on Broadway one day.

Immediately after that, I have a Dramatic Literature for Children class, so there was no time to stop by the library and add something to my short story post.

Had that class… read fun discuss play woohoo yeah…. Class ended–I got on the bus and got to the bus station. I park my truck there and drove home. I would drive to school daily except (1) my truck’s old and upkeep is expensive and (c) I don’t find the parking permit worth it. It’s $35 for a quarter-long pass, but it’s only $20 for a bus pass with student ID… and my truck would wear out quickly if I drove it daily.

So, anyway–I drove home, made myself a snack, then I came into my room and logged onto my laptop. I checked my email before coming to WordPress and looking at the draft of my short story.

After six hours of varying experiences (including improvising a puppet show with my classmates) I decided my short story sucked and deleted it. But then I had nothing to write about….

So I wrote all this. I really want to keep to my Mon-Sat postings, but I wasn’t able to brainstorm Sunday about topics. Saturday had been devoted to puppet-making. Sunday, however, was exciting and dreadful.

I recently joined my university’s film club (I just revealed my location! AAH!) and I was cast in a student film. Sunday evening was going to be my first time acting for film and I was really nervous.

Acting on stage and acting for a film is completely different. I’ll just say that for now.

I’d arrived early, deciding to linger in my truck for a bit (I drove this time) before heading to our meeting spot. I was the only one there–still had fifteen minutes–when I started to put my wallet and phone in my bag… when I realized I didn’t have my keys.

I checked the pockets of my sweater–nope. The bag didn’t jingle. I dug through it–no keys. The only conclusion was that they were still in the truck, so I briskly walked back to the parking lot using my ‘I’m totally not panicking right now–just in a hurry’ walk when my younger sister texted me something.

Thinking it was important, I stopped and checked. No–she was just having trouble logging into Netflix and wanted to know if I’d changed the password. Being a slow texter (because I choose to use full sentences) I responded, noticing it was already past six: the meeting time.

Hurried back to the spot, entered the building to see my co-star and director already waiting. I asked if either of them knew how to unlock a car without a key (the words I used were “break in” actually). You’d be surprised to know few males know how to do that. We agreed that going to the campus police for assistance would be great, but the three of us seemed to… just know I wasn’t going to do that immediately.

No… we have a film due this Friday… a first cut, anyway, and this was only our second shooting day due to time conflicts with each other. We needed to get these scenes done.

really wanted to be 100% present, but not only was I nervous about acting for film, I was also worrying about my old truck. I hadn’t run back to see if the keys were visible from the windows or not.

Regardless of that, I did my best. The director and other actor were very considerate of how I was feeling and understood my stress, so they were very patient with me as I flubbed the lines I knew I’d had memorized days before.

Once we finished and the director got the shots he wanted, my co-star volunteered to walk with me across the dark campus to the campus police office. The not-yet-elderly woman behind the glass told me campus police didn’t do that sort of thing–break into cars for people–due to liability issue.

My co-star–hero in the film and real life–offered me a ride home… but I wanted to stop by my truck one more time. Maybe we could pick the lock ourselves.

[For the last ten minutes right now, I got distracted updating my YouTube account information… and I don’t even post videos.]

I’d figured just getting something into the key hole of my passenger side door might work; the driver’s side door hangs a little, so when you close it completely–it’s locked tight and no key opens it.

While I was looking through my bag for something to use, my co-star used his ignition key and managed to turn the whole lock. I asked him to turn it the other way and it unlocked!!

I drove home in complete relief… and now I’m really tired.

So that’s how my Sunday and most of Monday went. I apologize if this was a dull post, but if you actually read it, I really appreciate that.

Thank you for your time.

P.S. Sometime… where I have the energy… I’ll post original short stories here, the ones I don’t plan to submit anywhere.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

1 thought on “Story Time: Sunday”

Leave a Reply

