I Want Fries With This Shake

It’s 4:o6pm (PST) on a Tuesday as I start this post. I just experienced an earthquake.

I mean, I live in Southern California, miles and miles from the San Andreas Fault. And, technically-speaking, I’ve been through earthquakes before. However, these past earthquake were years ago and barely felt where I lived at the time… often compared to passing gas (not my comparison).

This one was totally felt.

I like checking out the USGS site sometimes, specifically the earthquakes section. There is an earthquake somewhere in the world every day. California always got one, just about daily, though 2’s and 3’s.

Here are today’s quakes so far (at the time I snipped this from the site:

earthquakes

I’m somewhere in that red dot.

At the moment, 4:23pm, I’ve seen on my Facebook page that the local news have made a report of this, confirming what I’ve already looked up for myself.

Was I scared?

A little. I mean, I was in the bathroom when it passed through… a very vulnerable place to be if it’d been any bigger. I still finished my business like a lady before rushing out. Dogs were barking in our neighborhood, though our dog Pepe didn’t make a peep! Not one sound! He stays in my sister’s room and no hint of concern–he just wanted to play.

No damage to anything–it was a four–but I went outside just in case it had been a tree falling nearby or something. I hadn’t thought it was an earthquake, though I should have.

To describe it… I’d heard a dull, grounded kind of moan before the sudden tremble hit… like a wave of sound just before the actual shaking hit. It felt like it ‘passed by’…like those shimmering waves of wheat in the wind… or a roll of thunder. It really felt like a wave. It was pretty awesome.

My mom had just walked to the store down the street, and my younger sister was at choir practice. My sister texted me if I felt it, and she replied it was the first one of her life.

Well… like I’d said, tiny ones had passed through the areas we’d lived before, but they barely counted, so I let her have this one.

Ooh–as of 4:33pm, according to the USGS earthquake monitor page… thing, Wasco got an aftershock of 2.6.

As for my mom, she hadn’t felt anything. She was quite surprised about it. Of course, the same could be said about those driving during the time.

Well, just when I was worrying about having nothing to post about today… the powers that be gave me one.

At least this wasn’t about my lame cold.

 

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

3 thoughts on “I Want Fries With This Shake”

Leave a Reply

