Music

I find music a very wonderful part of writing. While we can’t write musicals into books (well, you can, but where’s the sound supposed to go?), it’s still a nice way for us to find that… feeling we want to get in our writing.

Mood music. If I’m working on a scene that has action in it–say… a fight scene–then I need to understand the mindset of being in such a high-adrenaline situation. Of course, I’m sitting in bed with my laptop, so I myself am not very thrilled.

Listening to a fast and loud song can definitely get my heart pumping faster. Music can help you “get in the zone.”

There’s all kinds of music out there. We all have our own tastes in music and that’s perfectly awesome.

But think if you could create a soundtrack for your story? What kind of music would be in it?

Personal Soundtrack

Some of my stories have their own soundtracks, songs that I wish would play during that scene if it were a movie. Some of these songs have lyrics, though, and I personally choose not to listen to them while I write.

Instrumentals of songs make up most of my soundtracks, and they’re the ones I play while I’m writing.

What I often do is spend a few minutes listening to my homemade soundtrack to the story… paying attention to the rise and fall of the mood… the tension I want the story to have… the heavy moments and light moments….

I get myself “in the story” this way, and I’ve already got a sense of feeling or emotions or immediacy that I want my stories or characters to have.

Movie Scores

For a while, I’d been listening to The Social Network and Inception soundtracks while I wrote. I usually prefer listening to only instrumentals while I write–no lyrics–because I don’t want other words floating around in my head.

I personally liked these two soundtracks for different reasons. The Social Network music makes me feel like I’m actually doing something. I know that as writers, it’s very easy for us to procrastinate, fall into a small bout of laziness that comes with writer’s block.

The music from Inception added a hint of intensity to whatever I did, made me feel like I was in a high-pressure situation, and this intensity pushed me.

YouTube’s Audio Library

While I have a YouTube channel, I don’t post videos. I have looked through its Creator Studio feature, though, and I found that YouTube provides all kinds of copyright free music for one to use.

It has playlists separated by genre. I’ve found songs under “Ambiance” or “Thrilling” or whatever. It had songs specifically for whatever mood you wanted.

I also found this channel that has songs in varying playlists like “Sad Music” or “Cinematic Music.” There are so many playlists and types of music… plenty to have playing in the background while you write.

This is a short post, I know, but I’d been meaning to write about music and writing. While it’s not required to listen to music while you write, it’s a nice thing to try every now and then.

Sound is important, and while it doesn’t come with books, it’s still an integral part of any experience. Films rely on musical scores to raise the tension or add to the levity. Sound is something our bodies take in without us knowing.

While you can’t include a soundtrack with your books (though, I’d like to see someone try), the music can help you find that mood you wish to convey. If you want your reader to feel something, what better way is there than to feel it yourself?

Thank you for your time.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

2 thoughts on “Music”

  1. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog and commented:
    This post is very meaningful for me. I’m a musician and an author. The main characters in my detective novels are both musicians as well as detectives. Other authors like James Patterson and Jonathan Kellerman have made music an integral part of their characters as well. Enjoy this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

