Filming

I might’ve mentioned many times before that I enjoy acting. I recently joined my university’s film club and have a couple of projects lining up.

First, we’re having a film screening of the club’s short films next week! Once they’re up on the YouTube channel, I’ll provide a link so that you can see them (and me!) in action.

Everyone in the club is also encouraged to submit a one-minute film, something akin to previews for the film screening. I just barely finished editing mine. It’s my first time using iMovie (on the school’s Mac computers) and after 2 agonizing hours… I can say that it is complete.

I plan to try my hand at another one this weekend, just in case I can make something better. My next idea requires two cameras and my younger sister’s help (if I can bribe her).

In a few weeks, screenplays are due for the spring quarter, the next batch of films. Everyone in the club has been encouraged to write a screenplay to submit. If selected, the club will turn it into a film!

Not only that, but we’ll also having a directing workshop! I don’t plan to direct the screenplay I submit–if it gets chosen (which I hope)–but I really want to learn editing skills so I can put my YouTube channel to use.

So, screenwriting….

Our club had  a screenwriting workshop a couple of weeks ago, so in terms of formatting, I’m all set.


Everything above this line was written Tuesday, down in the media lab of my school’s library. After that is a groggy blur because sitting at the computer for a few hours trying to figure out iMovie was exhausting. Then I was hungry. Then I probably ate something bad and I haven’t eaten since yesterday afternoon.

But it is Wednesday mid-morning and I still have a lot stuff to do.

Today is a film day for film club, and I believe it should be done. I still have two scenes–with a lot of dialogue and intensity–to do, so I’m nervous all over again. I am prepared, but still… pretending a camera isn’t in your face while it is in your face is… >.<

Then I want to make another, better one-minute movie for the film club. They’re due this coming Sunday–the film screening is on Tuesday–so I haven’t given myself much time. I still have school work too.

Also, short stories are being written at a slower rate than before. Some deadlines have been missed. AGH!

At the moment I am trying to straighten at least my bangs because filming is taking place right after class–so very little re-prep time. And then I should probably eat something. Wow–I am not managing my health very well.

Overall, I am a little peeved I missed another day of blogging–and about something writing-related too. But it just involves learning how to plan. Planning makes or breaks things. And as someone who learns better by doing, I… need to learn that better.

I hope everyone’s having a little less stress than I am.

Thank you for your time.

 

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

One thought on “Filming”

Leave a Reply

