Filming 2

Not intentionally a second part to an earlier post, but this is something I wish to share from the perspective of a writer attempting filming (as well as acting).

Sometimes I feel like writers of print are the nerds to the popular kids that are those who write for film–or turn their own writing into film. Our stories remain 2-dimensional while theirs become moving stories complete with music and celebrities.

>_>

But it doesn’t mean we can’t occasionally dabble. We can certainly try and see what it’s like to bring something to life… or to as close to life as we can get it.

The above short one-minute film is called “Waiting For The Story.” It’s from the viewpoint of a camera waiting for me to come up with something for us to film.

The film club I’m a part of had these 5 different prompts to submit a one-minute movie for. I chose “New Perspectives.”

I made 3 of them so that I could learn how to edit better and ultimately have options to submit. The first… sucked–completely.

This one here is the second one.

The third one, called “A Day Out” will be shown at our film screening tonight. My sister is taking a Photoshop class, so she has access to quality cameras. We used it for this third one-minute movie.

Unfortunately, I don’t believe any of you readers could actually attend the screening (it’d be a little scary if you did)–but don’t worry! I believe all the films will be put into a playlist on the club YouTube channel afterward. I’ll provide a link on the blog to the projects I was involved in: “A Day Out”, a small appearance in “Evasive” (which I won’t link, but I’m in there), and “Gary Stu/Mary Sue“.

>.<

I play Mary Sue!! A title character!!

Making a one-minute movie was difficult. It doesn’t appear that way, but it is for someone who has no sort of filming experience (until now!).

I didn’t work with any sort of script, just a vague idea for scenes.

ALWAYS HAVE A PLAN.

The director I worked with filmed his own script, which is an advantage most writers might want to take. Because there are so few directors in the club, they often take on multiple films–and not their own.

Once a script has been given to a director, the screenwriter generally loses all say in the film and editing process. This is true in the real world. The director decides what scenes will be filmed–if some are even possible to film–and in our club’s case, they do the editing and ultimately create the final product.

So directing my own little movie made me feel powerful. I decided what would be in it and the order most things would go in. My sister has the better eye for imagery, so I asked for her input in setting up shots. She’s credited as my cinematographer!

Filming with my sister was a fun way to spend a Saturday (and going to see Zootopia immediately afterward was a bonus!). We’ve been talking about doing this more… maybe start making our own little films….

I believe the editing was most challenging part of this whole experience. I felt we had shot a lot of good scenes–so many great moments we managed to catch at one of our local parks. But to scale everything down to one minute??

I did it, though. And I was able to do it in an hour and a half. My first attempt had taken nearly 3 hours, but most of that had been spent figuring out what commands in iMovie did what. I learn best while doing, but that’s a slow road.

I believe tomorrow should be the last time I post anything non-writing for now–we’ll see. The films are done and finals are coming up. Everyone’s gearing up for cramming.

Thank you for your time.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

One thought on “Filming 2”

  1. Great insight. As someone who’s trying to adapt a novel into a screenplay, it’s no easy feet. You can’t use a lot of descriptive narrative. It all comes down to what the viewer sees and hears.

    Like

Leave a Reply

