Rough Drafts

I’d like to say straightaway that the way I write would be considered wrong in most circles. One of the big no-no’s tends to be ‘Don’t edit as you write.’

*raspberries*

I’ll do whatever I damn well please.

Look, you can Google “rough drafts” and find all kinds of articles to help you work through rough drafts. It sounds like a lot of rules to follow, but that’s just me.

Back when I started writing anything fiction, I was literally writing what I assumed would be the final product. Not the best, but it’s what I did and continue to do.

KODAK Digital Still Camera
KODAK Digital Still Camera

At the moment, I’m slowly working on the sequel to The Page. What I’ve been doing most of the school quarter is writing it in my notebook. About 20 pages of this notebook are related to the Page sequel, 15 to various short stories (successes and fails) and the rest have been torn out due to notes.

I’m actually almost done with this notepad, but as a hoarder of notebooks, I have fresh new one ready for use.

I bet most of my professors think I’m taking hardcore notes. Most of the first drafts of The Page were written in notebooks and note paper, about 112 pages over last year–the rest written on my laptop.

So my rough drafts are mostly written by hand, and once I feel I have time, I start typing them up–editing as I do.

I am my own editor and the squiggly lines under misspelled words and grammatically incorrect phrases annoy me to death, so I edit as I go and I feel that it works for me.

Besides, it’s a rough draft. No one else is going to see the first or second one. If you give yourself plenty of time, you can change so much in it. You can write it, leave it to settle for a day or so–maybe longer–and then go back to it with fresh eyes.

I had plenty more to say about rough drafts earlier, but so much time passed between my initial idea and my writing it now that I can’t think of anything to add.

So my advice: WRITE EVERYTHING DOWN.

KODAK Digital Still Camera
KODAK Digital Still Camera

Write it anywhere. Anytime.

I keep a small notepad near my bed because–usually–good ideas for dialogue come to mind just before I fall asleep. Here is a small exchange of dialogue I thought up for the book/part to come after Charlie the VampireI wrote it around midnight or so because it was taking forever to get to sleep. It says:

“Time and effort. Trust me–we hated each other, but only because we knew what we wanted, and we knew it was going to be a fight to get.”

“Was it worth it?”

“Of course.”

I find that writing drafts and story ideas by hand–especially in pen–gives a sort of finality to it. Unless you want scratch marks all over your paper, you might think more carefully about how you’ll phrase things before writing them. It’s why most exams I take ask that we write in pen (I think).

You can also work on your penmanship. And once you become famous, you can auction off these one-of-a-kind first drafts, the scribbles future scholars will sift through and analyze.

*sighs* That’s the dream….

Another short post, which means that I’m floundering for topics (not taking advantage of my blogging-day off).

Thank you for your time.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

1 thought on “Rough Drafts”

  1. I edit as I go too, makes life so much easier, I dont return to chapter one after finishing and think wtf is happening?!
    Also kudos for doing it longhand – the prospect of rewriting it on word puts me off but i take notes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

