Talkin’ ’bout my Generation

I’m a Millennial.

It’s something that’s been weighing on my mind recently, especially as I’m nearing graduation. I should be more excited for it, but there are a number of factors that aren’t allowing me to fully enjoy completing my college experience–which wasn’t that great to begin with.

My socioeconomic status, my education, and the immediate world I live in all play a role in how I look at the end of a chapter in my life. It’s been a bit depressing, so I spent my Spring Break on the laptop so hard I developed an eye-twitching that just stopped yesterday (and it’s starting again).

I don’t want sympathy or ‘Everything will be alright’ types of comments. I’m in a bad mood and I want to stay in it until I’ve figured out for myself how to get out of it (don’t worry–I’ve done this plenty of times.)

Writing is my therapy, so let me write about how being young right now is difficult, okay?

Okay.

So, there’s a little back-and-forth between what a Millennial. As a label, it shouldn’t be so important, yet I find it to be so defining. It’s inescapable, a shackle that some of us were born with and are currently bearing.

Millennials, or Generation Y

If you want a range of years for this generation, it’s difficult to narrow down. While Wikipedia is not the best source (at least, I’ve been told so in school), the birth year range for this age group is commonly 1980 – 1996. People born between these years are Millennials, or Generation Y.

Y the interest in this topic? Well, my sister and I watched all of The Flash season 1 (enjoyed it very much, except for Iris), and it had surprised me to hear Barry Allen refer to himself as a Millennial twice (or more times, but I remember hearing it at least twice).

When he mentioned it, it was because someone had looked down on him for it, as if calling someone a Millennial is an insult. And it sort of is.

We’re accused of ‘being on our phones’ all the time, always being in our rooms, never talking to people. Millennials are put down for being young and not having enough ‘life experience’, which really isn’t our fault.

I will forever think of this Tumblr post, as it is uncanny in its accuracy. The start of it is the Featured Image for this post.

Rather than risk you only reading this post and not the whole Tumblr post, I’m writing it here, crediting every Tumblr user who contributed to the post with over 1 millions notes (meaning at least a million or so people know what this is like, and it’s going up):

eyebrowgod: a 90’s kid? don’t you mean sad adult?

(later) eyebrowgod: 70,000 people have reblogged this but no one is trying to defend themselves

alice-rabbit: There is nothing to defend

lookingforshadows: I read a post once that described 90s kids as the generation of nostalgia. because so much technological advancement happened in such a rapid timeframe when we were growing up. that we can clearly remember having technologies that are now obsolete. like going from a corded hugeass phone to a small computer in your pocket just within our formative years is a major thing. and it sparks a nostalgia for our seemly ‘simpler’ childhoods. because so much rapid development makes it seem like it was a lot longer ago than it actually was

instead-of-sighs: This is the most solid explanation of our decade I have ever heard.

fakenasty: Oh my god

retr0philia: Just to add onto that, our childhood wasn’t even technology based. We grew up knowing of chalk, skateboards, jump rope, street hockey, playgrounds, butterfly collecting, etc. Slowly technology took over our lives and now there are hardly kids playing outside in the summer. We can clearly remember our childhood as it was and now we can see the clear line between it. We were the generation right smack in the middle of it all. Our parents were non-tech and our children/young siblings will be all tech.

breelandwalker: Not to mention, ours was the last generation that grew up with all those bright promises of “work hard, go to college, and you’ll have a successful life,” only to find those hopes abruptly dashed when the housing bubble burst. Millennials have grown up expecting that disappointment, because for them, the problems has been there since Day One.

So 90s kids aren’t just nostalgic… we’re BITTER. And we ache for those days when we could still think that the world was boundless and full of opportunities we were promised since the first day of kindergarten.

Say what you will on the thoughts shown here. Maybe these are angst-ridden 20-year-olds who’re upset that the world is “so unfair.” Maybe they’re complaining because they have to work hard–a concept they were never taught. Maybe they should get off their phones and get a job.

That’s what’s said about Millennials all the time. I know. I hear it. I read it everywhere. Whenever we express an opinion, we’re shut down because we’re young, therefore, our opinions don’t count.

We go to college to learn, to understand the industry we wish to work in, to be informed about how our world works. Isn’t college supposed to help us find careers, not just jobs?

Need 2+ years experience.

Uh, I spent the last 4 years in school. When did I have time for experience?

I can’t get a job because I have no experience, but I can’t gain experience because I can’t get a job because I don’t have enough experience because I can’t get a job because I don’t have enough experience…. This is not what I signed up for. And this is my main concern right now.

I have plans to get a job at my university, and I will ask around about it soon. I hope I can end up working at the university. It’s where I want to stay, and since I can’t afford to be a student forever (though, if I win the lottery, I’m getting, like, 5 degrees) maybe I can be a part of the faculty… if the upcoming strike doesn’t ruin anything.

Right. So, no comments about ‘everything will be okay’ or anything of that sort. It’s like a patronizing pat on the head.

Are any Millennials reading this? What do you think of Millennials? Did you take any part of this post seriously?

Thank you for your time.

 

 

 

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

Leave a Reply

