A New Perspective

So, as I mentioned before, I am a member of my university’s film club. We’re a group of students with a strong interest in film. The club members are students who write, cast, direct, and produce short student films.

I initially joined because of my interest in acting. But seeing the film-making process firsthand—however small the production was—made me realize how much work went into making a film. It wasn’t neat, but it wasn’t easy either.

And, I learned how much power there is in being the director, so I want to try my hand in that.

For this spring quarter, I hope to submit 2 scripts. I’ll reveal the themes and prompts later, but I’ll say that they did require that I step out of my usual type of writing.

Once the scripts are chosen, directors choose what they’re going to direct (or it is assigned to them—I’ll find out soon). For the short film I was in, the director was also the writer of the script (and he appeared in it as well).

film-strip

There are advantages to directing your own script. The main one is that you decide what is in the film and how it will look… mostly because our directors must also edit the film, if possible.

I plan to submit these scripts, and if one is chosen, I want to direct it myself. This means I must learn how to do… well, everything → casting, location scouting, directing, filming, and editing.

But before I can think about any of that, there is one thing I need to know FIRST:

What can I do in editing?

I’ve spent the last hour trying to find video editing programs that I can learn how to use in a short time. I’ve included ‘free’ in my search criteria with mixed results. While many looked promising, I came across a free trial of one program that I really like. I’ve yet to see if it’s worth dropping $50 on. I need to know if I’ll be using this program a lot.

I played with the trial version. The effects that come with the program look easy (for me) to use and configure.

More importantly, it actually uses .MOV files. I learned the hard way that our video camera saves in .MOV, a file type that Windows Movie Maker cannot even play. The video player I got from the Windows 10 update can play them, but that’s it. I can’t edit .MOV files on my desktop.

An important note: know what file type your video saves in.

img3file

I can edit .MOV files using my school’s MACs, but that’d require spending a lot of time at the library. If possible, I’d prefer being able to edit from the comfort of my own home… where I can eat at the same time. My one-minute movie took 3 hours to make (because I was learning while doing) but I couldn’t leave to get something to eat and risk someone taking my computer.

Knowing the things I’ll be able to do in editing, it immediately gives me a good area to work in when it comes to writing my script.

If I know how to use split screen, I can show people talking to each other from to different locations at the same time. If I know how to apply various blurs, I can show a dizzy perspective from a disoriented character.

Glitch and static filters? I can write a crazy sci-fi story.

Soft lighting? Perfect for classic flashback scenes.

Fish-eye lens? Add a sense of paranoia.

Waves? Dream sequence!

vfx3

This is mostly how my day was spent. I haven’t actually done anything yet. In fact, I’ve been meaning to rewrite the screenplay I have and accommodate for all the effects I can now add. I’ll have to re-investigate the capabilities of the school’s MAC iMovie software, but I believe I have a lot of options now.

The free trial version is looking most tempting. I’ve already learned the basics. Only in the full version can I save and export videos. I’d need to justify its purchase, though.

I’ve been wanting to making videos for a while now, maybe a summer project with my sister.

We’ve also had tons of ideas for Vines–hilarious little moments we’ve seen and thought of, but had no means of putting together.

I’ll have to wait and see what I come up with.

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

Leave a Reply

