A Terrible Blogger’s Update

I really have been a terrible blogger. But I have a legitimate reason.

I’m human. And I’m tired.

Here are some things that have kept me from regularly blogging, not that you’ve missed me. It’s been a busy couple of months followed by a few, very slow Persistence of Memory-feeling kind of weeks.

Last Quarter Was Whack.

In a very challenging way. Nonetheless, I am very proud of my 10-11 page paper on The Round House by Louise Erdrich. It’s a very compelling read and I highly recommend it.

I also managed to write 2 short films for my school’s film club. I directed one of them called Sonia, Caprina. It’s 7 and a half minutes and I am very proud of it. The other film, Ransom, was taken down from YouTube due to music copyright claims (they’ve been a stickler with that lately). If the director ever reuploads it, I’ll add a link to it.

For my Shakespeare class, I spent a long weekend working on a presentation of Hamlet in the form of a dramatic reading. You can listen to it–and read along–here.

And, finally, my classes didn’t give tests to bubble in the answers to. Our final grades relied on our last papers. They had to be good. And, not to toot my own horn, I believe they were.

I Graduated From College.

And while a bachelor’s degree in English Literature sounds promising in class, in the real world it’s proved to be nothing more than a pat on the back. I’ve been looking for a part-time job in my area, but if you have no prior experience in that field, you’re not exactly desirable.

Graduation

I’ve been volunteering at my local library to keep myself busy, add something to my resume, and sort of suck-up to the bosses there. Two positions have been open there for a while, and I submitted an application.

I’ve submitted many applications in the past two weeks–all of them online. I show up at the store in person only to be told the application is online.

It’s not me who gets rejected, but my resumé (and I’m a tad bitter about it). At least at the library, I can prove I’m a hard-worker.

Looking Forward To Graduate School.

I’ve already been accepted for the Master’s program in English this Fall semester. Hopefully I can find a part-time job this summer and keep it–the classes are in the evening.

I’m also hoping to undergo mentor-ship so that I can become a lecturer or something–anything–at my university. It might’ve almost gone on strike, but it’s filled with wonderful professors and caring people.

Writing’s Fallen Behind.

My fiction writing took a backseat during school. I’ve been making very slow progress with the The Page sequel, but it’s moving along.

There are other stories that I’ve been working on, such as another novel idea–most likely a standalone I hope to release in the spring next year.

creative_writing

As for submitting to magazines and journals, it’s been slow-going. There are 3 stories I’m waiting to hear back from.

Many of them are currently calling for submissions for fall issues, ranging from fiction to non-fic, articles on varying topics, even agencies looking for book proposals and manuscripts.

If you’re a writer looking for places to submit your stories and writing, you can find some of these calls here. From one writer to another.

So… that’s what’s been happening so far.

One thing’s for sure–this is no longer a daily blog. To keep this place afloat, I’ll try to go weekly. Having something to do, like volunteering at my library, could take me on some adventures.

I’ll do my best to get this blog back on track, not that I have much to offer.

Thank you for your time!

Author: Saffron Grey

"Saffron Grey" is a preferred pen name, something to be referred to online. Saffron wants to be cool. School is a full-time job, writing is a dream career, blogging---a hobby, and acting---a dream. To do all three at the same time is a challenge gladly accepted. Saffron lives in California with her mother, sister, and their dog, Pepe.

Leave a Reply

